Book

Book (X)

Unlocking Shakespeare's Language: Help for the Teacher and Student

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 1

With this book, your students can learn to understand the language of Shakespeare by learning to recognize and translate unfamiliar words and syntactic patterns.

Unlocking Shakespeare's Language: Help for the Teacher and Student

Discovering Shakespeare's Language

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 1

Presenting the very best ideas from the Cambridge School Shakespeare series, this collection of activity sheets will enable you to develop your own sequence of lessons to focus on the study of Shakespeare's language. Copy this material as much as you wish for use in your classrooms. Each lesson is designed to encourage active learning in students of all abilities, providing plenty of opportunities for collaboration and individual exploration. The activities are all based on examples from the whole range of the plays in the canon as well as the Sonnets.

Discovering Shakespeare's Language

Charlotte's Web

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 25

Wilbur is the runt of a litter born to a pig on the farm of Fern Arable's father. When it is announced that her father is going to kill the pig, Fern rushes forth to save it, asking of her father: "If I had been very small at birth, would you have killed me?" Her father spares the pig, but only if Fern agrees to care for it. Falling in love immediately with the little pig, she feeds him regularly with a bottle, and names him Wilbur.

Author: 
Lexile: 
680L

Caldecott Collection 1991 to 1995

Icon: 
Book icon

Collection contains:
Caldecott Connections to Language Arts
Caldecott Connections to Social Studies
Caldecott Connections to Science
Raven by Gerald McDermott
Working Cotton by Sherley Anne Williams
Tuesday by David Wiesner
Owen by Kevin Henkes
The Small, Small Pond by Denise Fleming
Smoky Night by Eve Bunting
Mirette on the High Wire by Emily Arnold McCully
The Stinky Cheese Man and Other Fairly Stupid Tales by Jon Scieszka & Lane Smith
Yo! Yes? by Chris Raschka
Puss in Boots by Charles Perrault

Content Area: 

Caldecott Connections to Language Arts 1991-1995

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 1

Take advantage of the appeal and power of Caldecott award literature to extend and promote learning across the curriculum. In these three volumes the author demonstrates how to use award-winning books as springboards to science, social studies, and language arts learning in the library and classroom-and to expand student awareness and appreciation of illustration techniques. For each Caldecott title there is background information on the illustrations, curriculum connections, lesson plans, and support materials for teaching.

Author: 

Caldecott Connections to Social Studies 1991-1995

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 1

Take advantage of the appeal and power of Caldecott award literature to extend and promote learning across the curriculum. In these two volumes the author demonstrates how to use award-winning books as springboards to science and social studies learning in the library and classroom-and to expand student awareness and appreciation of illustration techniques. For each Caldecott title there is background information on the illustrations, curriculum connections, lesson plans, and support materials for teaching. Glandon also integrates Gardner's multiple intelligences with curriculum content.

Author: 

Caldecott Connections to Science 1991-1995

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 1

Take advantage of the appeal and power of Caldecott award literature to extend and promote learning across the curriculum. In these three volumes the author demonstrates how to use award-winning books as springboards to science, social studies learning, and language arts in the library and classroom-and to expand student awareness and appreciation of illustration techniques. For each Caldecott title there is background information on the illustrations, curriculum connections, lesson plans, and support materials for teaching.

Author: 

Using Caldecotts Across the Curriculum

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 4

Reading and Writing Mini-lessons, Math and Science Spin-offs,Unique Art Activities, and More
Inspire your students with the beautiful award-winning art and timeless, powerful stories found in Caldecott books. This rich resource uses Caldecott winners as springboards to provide lively, literature-based learning experiences across the curriculum.

Author: 

A Caldecott Celebration

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 4

To celebrate the seventieth anniversary of the Caldecott Medal and another decade of award-winning picture books, noted children’s book historian Leonard S. Marcus has updated this absorbing and informative picture of the world’s most prestigious illustration award and seven of its acclaimed winners: Robert McCloskey, Marcia Brown, Maurice Sendak, William Steig, Chris Van Allsburg, David Wiesner, and now Mordicai Gerstein.

Grandfather's Journey

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 1

Through compelling reminiscences of his grandfather's life in America and Japan, Allen Say gives us a poignant acount of a family's unique cross-cultural experience. He warmly conveys his own love for his two countries, and the strong and constant desire to be in both places at once.

Author: 
Lexile: 
AD650L

Swamp Angel

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 1

Working in an American primitive style animated by the humor and storytelling genius for which he is renowned, Caldecott Winner artist Paul O. Zelinsky puts oils to cherry and maple for this tall-tale competition between a Tennessee woods-woman extraordinaire and a hungry, fearsome bear. Thundering Tarnation has a bottomless appetite for settler's grub. When word goes out about a competition to hunt this four-legged forest of stubble, a young woman, second to none in buckskin bravery, signs up. "How about baking a pie, Angel?" the other hunters taunt. "I aim to," says Swamp Angel.

Author: 
Lexile: 
AD1020L

Black and White

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 1

Four stories are told simultaneously, with each double-page spread divided into quadrants. The stories do not necessarily take place at the same moment in time, but are they really one story?

Lexile: 
610L

Tar Beach

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 1

Illus. in full color. "Ringgold recounts the dream adventure of eight-year-old Cassie Louise Lightfoot, who flies above her apartment-building rooftop, the 'tar beach' of the title, looking down on 1939 Harlem. Part autobiographical, part fictional, this allegorical tale sparkles with symbolic and historical references central to African-American culture. The spectacular artwork resonates with color and texture. Children will delight in the universal dream of mastering one's world by flying over it. A practical and stunningly beautiful book."--(starred)Horn Book.

Lexile: 
AD790L

John Henry

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 1

Nothing can stop John Henry — no boulder, no mountain, and definitely no steam drill. Newbery Honor winner Julius Lester writes with such power that this African-American folk hero becomes as awesome as a natural phenomenon. Jerry Pinkney received a Caldecott Honor for his exuberant, glowing watercolor paintings of the hero. The book, celebrating its tenth year in print, was also a Boston Globe — Horn Book Award winner, a Parents Magazine Best Book, and an ALA Notable Book, among other honors.

Author: 
Lexile: 
AD720L

Peppe the Lamplighter

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 1

In the tradition of Lois Lowry and Paul Fleischman, Elisa Bartone's Caldecott Honor-winning book gives children a glimpse into American history and the immigrant experience.

This is the story of Peppe, who becomes a lamplighter to help support his immigrant family in turn-of-the-century New York City, despite his papa's disapproval. Peppe's family is very poor, and though he is just a boy he needs to find work. Being a lamplighter is not the job his father had dreamed of for Peppe, but when Peppe's job helps save his little sister, he earns the respect of his entire family.

Author: 
Lexile: 
AD570L

Pages