Book

Book (X)

Aaron and Alexander

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 6

Aaron Burr and Alexander Hamilton were both orphaned at a young age, and they both became successful lawyers. They both fought in the Revolutionary War. But the politics of the young United States of America put these Founding Fathers in constant conflict. Theirs is a story of passion, patriotism, and pride, which culminates in the most famous duel in American history. Despite their similarities, it seemed the world was not big enough for both Aaron and Alexander, yet the outcome of their rivalry forever links their names.

Author: 
Lexile: 
890L
Aaron and Alexander

Voice of Freedom Fannie Lou Hamer: Spirit of the Civil Rights Movement

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 6

"Hard as we work for nothing, there must be some way we can change things...There must be something else."

Voice of Freedom Fannie Lou Hamer: Spirit of the Civil Rights Movement

Rules for Stealing Stars

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 6

In the tradition of Sharon Creech and Wendy Mass, Corey Ann Haydu's sparkling middle grade debut is a sister story with a twist of magic, a swirl of darkness, and a whole lot of hope.

Lexile: 
720L
Rules for Stealing Stars

The Lightning Thief: Percy Jackson and the Olympians Teachers Edition

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 1

Twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school...again. No matter how hard he tries, he can't seem to stay out of trouble. But can he really be expected to stand by and watch while a bully picks on his scrawny best friend? Or not defend himself against his pre-algebra teacher when she turns into a monster and tries to kill him?

Author: 
Lexile: 
740L
The Lightning Thief: Percy Jackson and the Olympians Teachers Edition

The Nest

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 6

Steve just wants to save his baby brother—but what will he lose in the bargain? Kenneth Oppel’s (Silverwing, The Boundless) haunting gothic tale for fans of Coraline, is one of the most acclaimed books of the year, receiving six starred reviews. Illustrations from Caldecott Medalist Jon Klassen.

Author: 
Lexile: 
640L
The Nest

Iron Rails, Iron Men, and the Race to Link the Nation: The Story of the Transcontinental Railroad

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 6

Just after gold fever swept the West--a time when people walked, sailed, or rode horses for months on end to seek their fortune--the question of faster, safer, more reliable transportation between America's East and West Coasts was posed by lawmakers and national leaders. But with 1,800 miles of seemingly impenetrable mountains, searing deserts, and endless plains between the Missouri River and San Francisco, could a transcontinental railroad be built?

Lexile: 
NC1230L
Iron Rails, Iron Men, and the Race to Link the Nation: The Story of the Transcontinental Railroad

The First Step: How One Girl Put Segregation on Trial

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 6

In 1847, a young African American girl named Sarah Roberts was attending a school in Boston. Then one day she was told she could never come back. She didn't belong. The Otis School was for white children only.

Sarah deserved an equal education, and the Roberts family fought for change. They made history. Roberts v. City of Boston was the first case challenging our legal system to outlaw segregated schools. It was the first time an African American lawyer argued in a supreme court.

Lexile: 
770L
The First Step: How One Girl Put Segregation on Trial

Understanding Coding with Scratch

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 1

Coding was once an inaccessible activity for elementary students, but not any more. Scratch is an exciting and easy-to-learn coding program for people of all ages. Instead of lines of text, users code by dragging and dropping colorful, stackable blocks to create animations. With this colorful, intuitive, and simple application, even new Scratch users will begin to understand the logic behind coding in just minutes! Coding examples and photographs of age-appropriate students help readers feel at ease with STEM concepts.

Understanding Coding with Scratch

Understanding Coding with Hopscotch

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 1

Coding for elementary students is a new and exciting learning opportunity, and this book will show readers how to get coding in just minutes with the program Hopscotch. Instead of lines of text, Hopscotch provides users with colorful, stackable blocks to create animations, games, and more. The main text is supplemented with informative captions, sidebars, and a graphic organizer. Examples of Hopscotch visuals and photographs of kids engaged in coding are also included. These elements come together to help readers grasp the logic and STEM concepts involved with coding.

Understanding Coding with Hopscotch

Understanding Coding with Python

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 1

Usually we think of coding as something only trained experts and scientists can handle, but not any more thanks to programs like Python. First developed in 1991, Python uses lines of code, letters, and symbols, to create computer programs. Python is easier to read and takes fewer lines of code to accomplish tasks than some programming languages. Python's creator, Guido van Rossum, wanted to create open-source software that used easy-to-understand coding text. His software allows even novice programmers to see results in a short amount of time.

Understanding Coding with Python

Understanding Coding with Raspberry Pi

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 1

No, it's not dessert--it's a tiny single-board computer for budding computer scientists to experiment with. This versatile product can be paired with simple coding software, such as Python and Ruby, enabling young scientists to create fun and useful computer devices. Readers will learn the history of Raspberry Pi? and gain a basic understanding of computer programming through clear photographs and manageable text. Sidebars, captions, and a graphic organizer offer readers more chances to deepen their knowledge of this STEM-related topic. With accessories, Raspberry Pi?

Understanding Coding with Raspberry Pi

Understanding Coding with Ruby

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 1

In 1995, computer programmer Yukihiro Matsumoto introduced Ruby programming language to the world. He created a language that used his favorite elements of other languages, but was more object-oriented and easy to use, even for coding newbies. Ruby is also open-source software, meaning anyone can use, modify, and distribute it. Inside this volume, readers will learn the ins and outs of coding with Ruby, including why using "blocks of text" and mostly plain English text makes it an ideal program for ease of use.

Understanding Coding with Ruby

Understanding Coding with Minecraft

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 1

Introduced in 2009, Minecraft? has become an enormous success with gaming kids and adults. Users love exploring and building within Minecraft's mind-bogglingly large environments. This game allows users to practice STEM skills while having fun. One of its greatest strengths is its ability to teach coding principles with "redstone" blocks. These blocks can be used to make exciting machines and devices in Minecraft's virtual world. With this volume, readers will learn the logic and technology behind coding with Minecraft?.

Understanding Coding with Minecraft

Understanding Coding with Lego Mindstorms

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 1

The first Lego Mindstorms sets were released in the early 1990s. Since then, Lego's line of buildable, programmable robots has become a sensation with budding coders all over the world. More than just toy building blocks, Lego Mindstorms sets allow users to familiarize themselves with manipulating and customizing computer hardware and software. In this volume, readers will learn what it takes to be a Mindstorms builder and programmer! The manageable text is supported by clear photographs and a concluding graphic organizer.

Understanding Coding with Lego Mindstorms

Understanding Coding with Lego WeDo

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 1

Much like its older brother, Lego Mindstorms, Lego WeDo kits offer young engineers the chance to design and program creations all by themselves. WeDo kits take the fun and technology of Mindstorms kits and make it simpler for novice coders and builders. WeDo software is easy to learn and a blast to use. At the same time, using WeDo can easily be integrated into STEM instruction. Accessible text and clear photographs help readers make sense of a potentially difficult topic. Eye-catching sidebars and a graphic organizer round out this exciting learning experience.

Understanding Coding with Lego WeDo

Pages