f ELA | GVLIBRARIES.ORG

ELA

ELA (X) - Elementary (X)

Swamp Angel

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 1

Working in an American primitive style animated by the humor and storytelling genius for which he is renowned, Caldecott Winner artist Paul O. Zelinsky puts oils to cherry and maple for this tall-tale competition between a Tennessee woods-woman extraordinaire and a hungry, fearsome bear. Thundering Tarnation has a bottomless appetite for settler's grub. When word goes out about a competition to hunt this four-legged forest of stubble, a young woman, second to none in buckskin bravery, signs up. "How about baking a pie, Angel?" the other hunters taunt. "I aim to," says Swamp Angel.

Author: 
Lexile: 
AD1020L

Black and White

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 1

Four stories are told simultaneously, with each double-page spread divided into quadrants. The stories do not necessarily take place at the same moment in time, but are they really one story?

Lexile: 
610L

Tar Beach

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 1

Illus. in full color. "Ringgold recounts the dream adventure of eight-year-old Cassie Louise Lightfoot, who flies above her apartment-building rooftop, the 'tar beach' of the title, looking down on 1939 Harlem. Part autobiographical, part fictional, this allegorical tale sparkles with symbolic and historical references central to African-American culture. The spectacular artwork resonates with color and texture. Children will delight in the universal dream of mastering one's world by flying over it. A practical and stunningly beautiful book."--(starred)Horn Book.

Lexile: 
AD790L

Peppe the Lamplighter

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 1

In the tradition of Lois Lowry and Paul Fleischman, Elisa Bartone's Caldecott Honor-winning book gives children a glimpse into American history and the immigrant experience.

This is the story of Peppe, who becomes a lamplighter to help support his immigrant family in turn-of-the-century New York City, despite his papa's disapproval. Peppe's family is very poor, and though he is just a boy he needs to find work. Being a lamplighter is not the job his father had dreamed of for Peppe, but when Peppe's job helps save his little sister, he earns the respect of his entire family.

Author: 
Lexile: 
AD570L

More, More, More Said the Baby

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 1

Meet Little Guy, Little Pumpkin, and Little Bird, stars of three vignettes that celebrate the joy babies generate among those who love them.

Lexile: 
AD480L

Seven Blind Mice

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 1

"It's a pillar," says one. "It's a fan," says another. One by one, the seven blind mice investigate the strange Something by the pond. And one by one, they come back with a different theory. It's only when the seventh mouse goes out-and explores the whole Something-that the mice see the whole truth. Based on a classic Indian tale, Ed Young's beautifully rendered version is a treasure to enjoy again and again.

Author: 
Lexile: 
AD350L

Puss in Boots

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 1

Charles Perrault's Puss in Boots has been an irresistible magnet for countless illustrators ever since this classic French tale was first published in 1697. So the question arises: Do we really need another edition of Puss? Presented with Fred Marcellino's magnificent interpretation of this nimble new translation of the authentic text, book lovers young and old are apt to decide that this Puss in Boots belongs on their shelf of special favorites.

Lexile: 
AD790L

Yo! Yes?

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 1

"An effective, unusual 34-word story of the beginnings of a friendship, accompanied by wild and wonderful illustrations. Against pastel backgrounds, in vibrant, colorful images, an African-American boy and a white boy meet on the street. [Their] one- and two-word exchanges on each spread lead to a tentative offer of friendship, sealed as both boys jump high in the air and yell "Yow!" With a beautifully balanced, economical style, the book illumines the peaks and pitfalls of getting acquainted, and puts in a good word for brotherhood as well." — School Library Journal, starred review

Author: 
Lexile: 
BR

The Stinky Cheese Man and Other Fairly Stupid Tales

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 1

The entire book, with its unconventional page arrangement and eclectic, frenetic mix of text and picures, is a spoof on the art of book design and the art of the fairy tale. The individual tales, such as he Really Ugly Ducklingand ittle Red Running Shorts,can be extracted for telling aloud, with great success. Another masterpiece from the team that created The True Story of the Three Little Pigs! -Horn Book

Lexile: 
520L

Mirette on the High Wire

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 1

Mirette learns tightrope walking from Monsieur Bellini, a guest in her mother's boarding house, not knowing that he is a celebrated tightrope artist who has withdrawn from performing because of fear.

Lexile: 
580L

Smoky Night

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 1

In a night of rioting, Daniel and his mother are forced to leave their apartment for the safety of a shelter. "Diaz has not been afraid to take risks in illustrating the story with thickly textured paintings against a background of torn-paper and found-object collage. Without becoming cluttered or gimmicky, these pictures manage to capture a calamitous atmosphere that finally calms. . . . Both author and artist have managed to portray a politically charged event without pretense or preaching."-- The Bulletin

Author: 
Lexile: 
360L

Owen

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 1

Owen had a fuzzy yellow blanket. "Fuzzy goes where I go," said Owen. But Mrs. Tweezers disagreed. She thought Owen was too old for a blanket. Owen disagreed. No matter what Mrs. Tweezers came up with, Blanket Fairies or vinegar, Owen had the answer. But when school started, Owen't mother knew just what to do, and everyone -- Owen, Fuzzy, and even Mrs. Tweezers -- was happy.

Author: 
Lexile: 
370L

Raven: A Trickster Tale from the Pacific Northwest

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 1

Raven, the trickster, wants to give people the gift of light. But can he find out where Sky Chief keeps it? And if he does, will he be able to escape without being discovered? His dream seems impossible, but if anyone can find a way to bring light to the world, wise and clever Raven can!

Lexile: 
380L

Working Cotton

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 1

This child’s view of the long day’s work in the cotton fields, simply expressed in a poet’s resonant language, is a fresh and stirring look at migrant family life. “With its restrained poetic text and impressionist paintings, this is a picture book for older readers, too.”--Booklist

Lexile: 
AD600L

Mythos II: The Shaping of the Eastern Tradition (1996)

Icon: 
DVD icon

"Myth comes from the same zone as dream... from the great biological ground, whatever it may be. They are energies and they are matters of consciousness." - Joseph Campbell

Grade Level: 
Elementary
Length: 
04:42
Mythos II: The Shaping of the Eastern Tradition

Pages