New York City

George Bellows (2012)

Icon: 
DVD icon
Icon: 
Streaming icon

Arriving in New York in 1904, George Bellows depicted America on the move. In a 20-year career cut short by his untimely death at age 42, he painted the rapidly growing city of New York, its bustling crowds, skyscrapers, and awe-inspiring construction projects, as well as its bruising boxers, street urchins, and citizens hard at work or enjoying their leisure.

Grade Level: 
High
Length: 
00:29
George Bellows

The Secret Subway

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 6

From an acclaimed author and a New York Times Best Illustrated artist comes the fascinating, little-known—and true!—story of New York City’s first subway.

Author: 
Lexile: 
AD810L
The Secret Subway

Packet Row

Icon: 
game icon

New York, 1842: The docks along South Street bustle with activity. Packet ships are constantly arriving and departing. There are so many packet ships waiting along the docks that the area has become known as the "Packet Row".

Grade Level: 
Middle
High
Content Area: 
Social Studies
Play Time: 
60 min.
Packet Row

New York 1901

Icon: 
game icon

Relive the dawn of modern New York City, the historic years that made it what it is today. Build bigger and higher skyscrapers on some of Lower Manhattan's most iconic streets.

Grade Level: 
Middle
High
Content Area: 
Social Studies
Play Time: 
45 min.
New York 1901

The Dutch & New Amsterdam (1999)

Icon: 
DVD icon

These engaging presentations view the traditions of early colonial life through contemporary insights into the men, women and children who carried their dreams of a new life to the New World. Follow along as colonial life experts tour the modern-day sites of these settlements to learn the history of the people who settled them and discover what daily life was really like.

Grade Level: 
Elementary
Middle
Length: 
00:23
The Dutch & New Amsterdam

Peppe the Lamplighter

Icon: 
Book icon
Copies: 1

In the tradition of Lois Lowry and Paul Fleischman, Elisa Bartone's Caldecott Honor-winning book gives children a glimpse into American history and the immigrant experience.

This is the story of Peppe, who becomes a lamplighter to help support his immigrant family in turn-of-the-century New York City, despite his papa's disapproval. Peppe's family is very poor, and though he is just a boy he needs to find work. Being a lamplighter is not the job his father had dreamed of for Peppe, but when Peppe's job helps save his little sister, he earns the respect of his entire family.

Author: 
Lexile: 
AD570L

Liberty's Kids Disc Two (2002)

Icon: 
DVD icon

Caught on opposite sides of the revolution, Benjamin Franklin’s teenage reporters—American colonist James and young Englishwoman Sarah—confront the real, physical dangers of combat. Forced to choose between their friendship and allegiance to their countries, the kids find that their understanding of good and evil is challenged by the moral dilemmas of war.

Grade Level: 
Primary
Elementary
Length: 
02:41
Liberty's Kids Disc Two

City of Bones: The Mortal Instruments, Book 1 (Unabridged)

Icon: 
ipod icon

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder — much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air.

Grade Level: 
Length: 
14:11
City of Bones: The Mortal Instruments, Book 1 (Unabridged)

The Cricket in Times Square

Icon: 
Book icon
Icon: 
Teacher's Guide icon
Copies: 30

After Chester, a cricket, arrives in the Times Square subway station via a picnic basket from his native Connecticut, he takes up residence in the Bellinis' newsstand. There, the tiny creature is lucky enough to find three good friends: a little boy named Mario whose parents run the unsuccessful newsstand, a fast-talking Broadway mouse named Tucker and his pal, Harry the Cat. Throughout their escapades and their ups and downs in New York City, together they somehow manage to bring success to the almost bankrupt newsstand.

Author: 
Lexile: 
780L
The Cricket in Times Square

Brighton Beach Memoirs

Icon: 
ipod icon

In Neil Simon's darkly funny memoir of his family in 1930s Brooklyn, 14-year-old Eugene is preoccupied by his passion for the Yankees and his lust for his beautiful cousin, Nora. Eugene's comic growing pains contrast with the darker issues troubling his family: poverty, illness, long-held sibling resentment, and the growing Nazi threat to relatives in Europe.

Author: 
Grade Level: 
Length: 
01:55
Brighton Beach Memoirs

Pages